Things that will Inevitably Happen when you Get a Short Haircut 

I recently underwent a major hair change.

Just kidding, it wasn’t that major.

I cut off 10 inches of my previously long hair.

I did it because I thought of the youths who have diseases and conditions that cause them to loose their hair and wanted to do something to help. I felt a little over-privileged and guilty whenever I put my hair up in a ponytail.

Also, I was starting to look like the girl from The Ring.

Wet, fresh-chopped hair, don’t care.

I’ve had my new hair for a few weeks now, and I’ve noticed some things that have occurred in that time frame.

The first thing is the most obvious: people will notice. However, it took some people a pretty long time to be aware of my new cut.

Some people took a minute to notice, others took four days to notice.

When they did notice, their reactions were pretty positive, or they were just really good at faking a positive reaction.

In most cases, people didn’t really react. They took one look and most likely thought, “Oh no, she’s in that phase of her adolescence.”

Although no one said it to my face, I can tell some people thought I was on drugs, or that I suffered from alcoholism, or that I was questioning my sexuality.

I was not doing any of those at the moment, thank you very much.

When other people noticed, such as former classmates I don’t often talk to, they looked for a long time, as though they didn’t believe their eyes.

WELL YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT.

As the days with short hair went by, I realized how hard it was to actually make my hair look good.

When I first cut it, my stylist made it look great. I believed that I could do that.

I was wrong.

Using a flat iron as an unconventional curling iron is much harder than it looks.

Also, you will think that 2 pounds of hairspray will help keep your hair in place. It will only turn you into an 80s-themed bachelorette party disaster.

On some days, your hair will actually behave. It will twist on your brush in the way that you want it to. You won’t need hairspray for it to stay in place.

However, on some days, you’ll look like Dora. Or your great aunt. Or your history teacher. Or Angelica Huston. Or all four.

However, no matter how great or terrible your hair looks, you will ALWAYS think you look like Taylor Swift. Or Aubrey Plaza. Or Sarah Hyland.

Spoiler alert: you don’t.

Last, you start to miss your long hair. A lot.

Should I get extensions? Should I wear a wig?

But whenever it only take 35 seconds to make my hair look great, I remember how much I love my hair.

And I think of the hairless youths. Them too.

2 thoughts on “Things that will Inevitably Happen when you Get a Short Haircut 

Leave a Reply

