So, Why the Change?

Those of you who have been on my page in the last day or two have probably noticed that my blog has had a pretty extreme makeover.
Yes, I changed my name. Goodbye Style & Other Complicated Things, hello The Starving Writer.
If I were a YouTuber, I’d probably go the dramatic route and make a tearful video talking about how I’ve lied to all of my subscribers and strayed away from my true identity in the process.
But I’m not that kind of girl, neither are my reasons that dramatic, so I’m just going to explain.
When I first started blogging, I was holding onto the possibility that I could have a career in fashion.
I had stopped sewing at the time, but I still hoped that I could pursue a career in that field, because it had been what I had my heart set on since I was in the second grade.
So I started off writing about fashion. For a while, I enjoyed doing that.
But throughout the time I had SOCT, my interest in fashion was waning, and my interest in writing was skyrocketing.
I don’t know what caused me to loose my passion, but all of the sudden, style was boring me.
But I of course ran into trouble, because “Style” was, by name, the central concept of my blog.
I needed a change of my name and focus, but I didn’t know what that change was going to be.
So the name Style & Other Complicated Things was there to stay, at least for the time being.
As I looked at my other content, I realized the one thing that was limiting me: categories.
My title automatically placed SOCT into the style blog category, obviously. Sure, there were the “Other Complicated Things,” but style was still the centralized concept.
I realized I didn’t need my blog to fit into one classification in order for it to be successful. Ditching my current title would grant me more freedom to post whatever I want.
So I spent some time planning out the new blog from Cayla Newnan.
I have decided that I’m going to keep my content simple: I’m going to post whatever I want, within reason, obviously.
That means my content will be quite diverse. One day I could be posting an album review, the next day, an opinion, the day after, a creative story.
I also determined my title: The Starving Writer. I chose this because it is exactly who I am.
In addition to these changes, I altered my URL, my Instagram page, and my design.
One of the things I have yet to determine is a schedule. So far, it’s whenever I want.
But I can guarantee that I won’t go without posting for months at a time. That’s an SOCT thing, not a TSW thing.

So I hope you all enjoy my newest venture. Thanks again for all your support and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

